hello.

de·tox·i·fi·ca·tion : n. 1. The process of removing toxic substances or qualities.

cocktails: n. 1. An alcoholic drink consisting of a spirit or several spirits mixed with other ingredients, such as fruit juice, lemonade, or cream. 2. mixture of substances or factors, esp. when dangerous or unpleasant in its effects synonyms: delicious, fun.

Welcome to my unconventional dieting & fitness blog, Detox Cocktails. I’m what you would call the opposite of a fitness enthusiast. While I enjoy seeing results, I hate the whole process of dieting, working out, counting calories, etc. I’ve only recently begun this process (I refuse to use the word journey. On basic principle, it’s cliched and this is not a journey, it’s a painfully long process during which I will likely hate myself more than once and really just want to gorge on cupcakes) and seen a bit of success. I’ve dieted years ago, but this time I’m trying to take it a bit more seriously. Combined with fitness, I’ve managed to lose 10 lbs in just over a month. Worth mentioning is that I’ve only had cut back on happy hour here and there, and can still enjoy the occasional (alright, weekly) glass of wine.

This blog is mostly an outlet for my own sarcasm and criticisms of the fitness mantra. But in addition to that, I’m going to share (complain a lot about) some of the things I’ve done that work, some of the things  I love and most certainly talk (whine & bitch) about the things I loathe (there are a lot).

If anything this serves as a journal for myself but if I happen to find some people out there who share my same views, awesome.

Looking forward to this new journey and hoping to gain some perspective on all of the secrets of life and what it is to be happy.  Wrong, I look forward to having a good time and hopefully losing some weight along the way.

Leave a Reply

